FIFA Club World Cup Football Tickets

Next CLUB WORLD CUP Fixtures

Sell tickets

The Start of the FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup was founded in 2000. The first tournament was held under the name of the FIFA Club World Championship. After a four year break the tournament resumed again in 2005. 

From 1960 the Intercontinental Cup generally pitted the best in Europe against the best in South America. In 2000 the first Club World Cup tournament took place with a similar format. In that first tournament eight football clubs were invited, including Manchester United representing Europe.

There was much deliberation about United's participation as they withdrew from that season's FA Cup to participate. 

When the Club World Cup returned in 2005 it had merged with the Intercontinental Cup and in 2006 it began operating in a similar format as the present day. Today the tournament includes the best of each continent. In the latest tournament there were four rounds with the European and South American teams entering in the semi-finals. 

Early FIFA Club World Cup Seasons

Corinthians won that very first tournament in Brazil in 2000, defeating fellow Brazilian club Vasco de Gama in the final. Corinthians had qualified as champions of the Campeonato Brasileiro and Vasco as champions of the Copa Libertadores. That remains the only time that two clubs from the same country have played each other with the format soon being altered.

Sao Paulo and Internacional of Brazil won the next two tournaments staged in Japan, beating Liverpool of the Premier League and Barcelona of La Liga respectively. Finally in the fourth edition came a European winner with AC Milan, followed by a Manchester United win in 2008.

The tournament has a feverish following in South America but is not as revered in Europe where the UEFA Champions League is considered the world's most prestigious tournament although the Club World Cup has grown in stature as the years have progressed.

Top FIFA Club World Cup Teams

Real Madrid have won the Club World Cup four times making them the most successful club in the history of the tournament. Triumphing in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018 their win against Kashima Antlers of Japan in 2016 was their closest final. That went to extra time before Madrid were victorious in a 4-2 win.

Fellow La Liga team Barcelona have won the tournament three times in 2009, 2011 and 2015. Their 2011 win against Santos of Brazil is the biggest margin in a FIFA Club World Cup Final (4-0).

Both Corinthians and Bayern Munich have won the trophy twice with Liverpool, Chelsea, Sao Paulo, Internacional, AC Milan, Manchester United and Inter Milan all winning once.

2022 FIFA Club World Cup UAE (Officially named the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup)

The 2022 FIFA Club World Cup was hosted in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates and was contested between seven clubs:

  • Al Ahly (CAF Champions League)
  • Al Hilal (AFC Champions League)
  • Al Jazira (Hosts from the UAE)
  • AS Pirae (Nominated from Oceania)
  • Chelsea (UEFA Champions League)
  • Monterrey (CONCACAF Champions League)
  • Palmeiras (CONMEBOL; Copa Libertadores)

The results went largely as expected throughout the tournament. Notable exceptions include Al Ahly SC beating Monterrey in the second round at the Al Nahyan Stadium. And Al Hilal ran Chelsea FC close in the semi-finals but the Blues were victorious by a goal to nil. 

Ultimately the final ended up as expected, Chelsea versus SE Palmeiras in the Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium. The game proved to be a thriller with Chelsea winning two-one after extra time. Al Ahly won the third place match with Al Hilal.

FIFA Club World Cup Tickets

The next Club World Cup will take place in China in either 2022 or 2023 with the schedule to be determined to fit seamlessly with other competitions including the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022. 

When the schedule is determined you can book football tickets for FIFA Club World Cup games with, you can be assured of 100% Safe & Secure Booking with guaranteed timely ticket delivery for all our sporting events.